Leave Out All The Rest

 

Writing 101 Day 5: Hook ’Em With a Quote’

Sometimes it’s helpful to use someone else’s words to begin writing. Today, use a quote from something you’ve read to introduce your post – it’s called an epigraph. You can write about anything for today’s post. The only requirement is that you begin with blockquote.

– – –

 

Music was my refuge. I could crawl into the space between the notes and curl my back to loneliness.

– Maya Angelou

 

I confess I’m a music person. I don’t need lyrics to a song. The first thing I notice in a song is its music. If I do not like the music, then the lyrics must hold some meaning for me, touch a chord within me and only then will I love the song. I don’t care if there are no lyrics as long as I love the music. May be that is why I love the sound of piano more than any other musical instrument. There is something in it; in that music that stirs my soul.

‘Leave Out All The Rest’ was the song that introduced me to Linkin Park. I fell in love with this song at the first sound (if that makes sense). I was just starting college when I found this treasure and have loved it since then.

We book lovers have this concept of comfort books. Well, this song is my comfort song. Whenever life seems to beat me down, I pop in my headphones, shut out the world around me and listen to this soothing song.

 

When my time comes forget the wrong that I’d done

Help me leave behind some reasons to be missed

Don’t resent me and when you’re feeling empty

Keep me in your memory, Leave out all the rest

Leave out all the rest.

 

This song makes me wonder what I will be leaving behind when I’m gone. Will I be remembered as a dear friend, loving child, a better human or will I be remembered for the hurt I caused someone? I’ve come to realize that death is sudden. One moment you have sat down with a person, laughed out loud on their joke, shared your story with them and then the next day, you find them gone, leaving behind a void in your life that can never be filled. The pain is your constant remainder of their presence in your life. But then as time goes on, the same pain is slowly replaced by memories – memories of that last joke, that last story, and all the time you spent together.

This is the song I associate with my death. Because when it’s my time to bid goodbye, I wish I could leave behind a little smile and hope in the hearts of my loved ones. I would like them to have memories of me that could light up their world and give them light to ward off any darkness. I would ask them to forget the hurt and the pain I caused, to remember me as a fond memory – like the scent that lingers behind even after the rose has wilted; to feel me in the feather-light caress of the wind; to see the photographs and laugh at the memories that would be trapped in them. I wish people would cry at my funeral not for the hurt I caused but for the fond memories I leave behind, for all the good times we shared.

May be it’s the band, maybe it’s the lyrics, maybe it’s the singer’s voice or maybe, just maybe it’s the night I first heard this song. I don’t know what it is that made me like this song in the first place but I love this song. And that is the one thing that hasn’t changed in all these years.

Cheers,

Signature_feather

 

 

 

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

