Writing Space – The Birthplace of all my Brain Farts

 

Writing 101 Day 6: The Space to Write

Where do you write? On your laptop in a coffee shop? In a quiet room, door closed, away from civilization? Today, describe the space where you write. If you don’t have a dedicated place, what is your ideal setting?

– – –

And as imagination bodies forth
The forms of things unknown, the poet’s pen
Turns them to shapes and give to airy nothing
A local habitation and a name.
– William Shakespeare (A Midsummer Night’s Dream)

When it comes to writing, I have no preset rituals, not any that I’m aware of. The first and only thing I seek when I write is solace. I need my own space to pen down my thoughts. I do not feel comfortable with someone hovering over my desk, or breathing down my back. When I write, I bare a part of my soul and so, the idea of showing it off to people, especially those I know, is too intimating for me.

And then there are those early morning hours when human-kind is asleep and the only thing that I can hear is Mother Nature. In these waking hours, I can feel the pull of my mind, the urge to jolt down things, to put to words things that I know will be forgotten in the later hours of busy life.

The words that I write in the early morning hours sometimes amaze me. They are raw, without any corruption. I’ve no preconceived thought of what to write or not write. It just comes pouring out. My only concern is finding the will to write, because there are times when writing becomes a mundane task, something that needs to be done on a daily basis. This ‘need’ drives me insane. I hate forcing myself to write when it should come naturally. May be these are the times we remember as ‘Writer’s block’. But to me, this is not blocking of thoughts but overflow of them. There are too many thoughts, too many ideas, too many brain-farts and they overwhelm me, thereby blocking my words.

This might be the reason I am trying to get in the habit of writing on a daily basis, if possible, in the early morning hours. May be then these overflowing ideas won’t overwhelm me anymore and I’ll be able to enjoy the process of writing that has always brought me peace in the past.

Has anyone faced the same problem? How did you overcome it?

Cheerio,

Signature_feather

 

 

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

