Tweet-a-Tweet

Writing 101 Day 7: Let Social Media Inspire You

One of the goals of this course is to help you tap into new and unexpected places for post ideas. Today, let’s look to Twitter for inspiration. 

Below, you’ll see five tweets, and we hope one will elicit a response from you.

Write a response to one of these tweets. Shape your post in any way you choose — agree or disagree with the tweet, or use it as a starting point for a story, poem, or something else.

– – –

All these tweets seem… interesting. But the one I choose for this post will be the third one as it perfectly fits my present scenario.

I can’t decide if procrastination kills creativity or is essential to it.

– Grant Snider

This tweet wasn’t my first choice but after Blogging 101 ended, I found myself doing the same – procrastinating. The assignments kept on bundling up and yet, I couldn’t find the will to gather my scattered thoughts and type away.

As long as I can remember, this has been a problem. A hurdle I have to overcome everytime I try to get back into the habit of writing. It isn’t the question of forcing myself because trust me, I have tried it, and tried it numerous times. Yet, everytime the result is the same – blank mind and blank page.

Even if I succeed in pulling something together, it goes to the trash bin. Because that’s what it is – trash, waste, not good enough.Is this writer’s block? Is this the reason I spend too much time staring at my computer screen with a blank word document?

Two years – two years of writing, rewriting and drafting has kept me away from publishing my first story. I have done character sheets, have blindly ran in writing the first draft, have created a systematic plot structure and scenes and yet, the story remains unfinished. Is it procrastination? Or am I being just plain lazy?

Today, as I write this blog, I find some of the chips falling off. There is an energy in my hands as my fingers dance in excitement over the keypad. Though my mind still wants to stop here, I won’t. Five more minutes… I give myself ten more minutes of writing.

Back to the topic at hand. Based on my experiences so far, I definitely feel that procrastination murders creativity. It’s good to take a break now and then when one feels like writing has become a mundane task. But if the days turn into weeks of no productivity, then you are not taking a break but procrastinating. Like right now, even though I am writing this down, my eyes hover not so subtly over the word count for this post. It still is in the range of three hundreds which to me is too short for a post.

My last few blogs too tend to belong in the ‘low word count’ range. Hence, from this post onwards, I want to force myself to break this vicious circle of procrastination and learn to increase the length of my blog posts, which in the past came naturally to me.

I wonder what happened now? Why has it become so difficult to reach even five hundred words in a single blog post. It isn’t that difficult of a task and it isn’t like I’ve never done it. Does it mean that I’ve become lazy now? And why is this post moving in circles over the same topic?

Jeiji, I really think you must have lost your mind or Mr. Brain must have gone on a holiday to Jeju Island. Okay! That’s enough! When you start talking about your body organ in third person, I guess it’s your cue to stop.

So, how often do you find yourself procrastinating? And how do you overcome it? Don’t shy away from sharing your thoughts.

Hope you have a good day/night.

 

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

