Coffee Break #1

Coffee cup made of icons

I was introduced to the concept of ‘virtual coffee date’ through Dailypost’s Writing101 workshop. The main idea behind this concept is to post updates, like project news or personal messages about what’s going on in your life. In order to give more structure to my blog, I decided to post on the first day of each month. This way I can write about the past month as well as my expectations from the ongoing one.

So, are you ready to have a cup of coffee with me?

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about the guitar I bought the last month. It is my first time handling one, and after two days of tuning, I still can’t get the hang of it. I’ve some songs in my mind which I want to play so badly, but I’ve to be patient and be thorough with the basics first, else I would just be mugging up the chords without understanding anything. Also, I am scared of not being able to create my own music if I ignore the basics and just jump-start with songs’ tutorials left and right. So let’s hope by the end of this month I can make some progress in my lessons.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you how I am suffering from coffee withdrawal. Trust me when I say it’s a real thing. There are times when I catch myself surfing the internet for photographs of coffee. Just looking at these picture has me drooling. What did you say? Why don’t I drink one? Hells Bells! I would if I could but for my family. They have this notion of coffee being unhealthy and according to them, I am a tad-bit overly fond of everything coffee. Anddd… they might be right. Coffee to me is like comfort food or shopping to some. I can never get enough of it. So, they have put me on a diet – a sort of ‘abort coffee‘ mission. It’s been a month since I even smelt the fragrance of one. Wait, was it two weeks? Shrug… I don’t remember. All I know is that I am this close to go buy myself one cup of this lifesaver. I don’t think I can survive another week without my daily dose of coffee. looks at the above picture and starts drooling… again!

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you I restarted with my driving lessons. When I was in school, I had this accident after which I could never make myself to drive anything. Which means every time I tried to learn driving, I abandoned it in the next two days because of my panic. But this time, I am serious about overcoming my fear and getting my license. I need to do it. I have to do it. And whenever I start becoming self-conscious of the stares and whispers of those around me, I repeat to myself –

Think of them as your personal cheerleaders. They are there because they are proud of you and want you to do better.

This thought somehow motivates me and I hope this way I can kill two birds with one stone – learn driving as well as get over my habit of being overly self-conscious of other people.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about my new Instagram account where I have started posting my take on the world Through My Lens. There is something peaceful and fascinating about taking pictures and then editing them to your satisfaction. Nostalgic… like your childhood’s old photo album.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about being inspired by  Kate Goes Global to format my post this way. I think it’s a beautiful way to share your thoughts. In the future, I wish to look at more of the posts about coffee-breaks and learn how varied and diverse people and their posting style can be. I think it’s a great way to broaden your writing horizon and gain perspective.

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you that I am now a Blogging101 graduate and am venturing into Blogging U’s Writing101 workshop. This post today is where it all begins. For though I started with this course in the past, I found something lacking. Now, instead of just jolting down my thoughts, I am going to go through the extra resources provided with the daily assignments and then write and rewrite my own piece. This way I am sure I will be able to become more aware of my writing style and armed with this knowledge, I can improve my thought-process as I jolt down words into sentences and then onward to paragraphs and pages.

That’s it for my pitter-patter.

What about you? And how’s life? Don’t forget to join me for our next coffee date on the first of May, next month.

Cheers,

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

