Coffee Break #2

Hello and welcome to our second coffee-date. I hope you have been well. As for me, I had a month mixed with some good and some bad. But that’s for later. First let me do the introductions for all the newbies who are here on their first coffee-date. 

Let’s start then, shall we?

So… I was introduced to the concept of “virtual coffee date” through Dailypost’s Writing101 workshop. The main idea behind this concept is to post updates, like project news or personal messages about what’s going on in your life. In order to give more structure to my blog, I decided to post on the first day of each month. This way I can write about the past month as well as my expectations from the ongoing one. 

So, are you ready to have a cup of coffee with me?

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you that I miss my brother. I miss his teasings and being silly with him. Right now, he is busy with his life and I am trying to build mine, which means we are in two different parts of the world. Thanks to the technological developments we are able to talk atleast thrice a week but it’s not like sitting with him and sharing our stories over a tub of ice-cream. But I guess this is what growing-up means. After all even birds have to leave their nest someday. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about the most anticipated movie of the year. I finally got the opportunity to watch it in theatre. And I am so glad I did! I could have watched it on the DVD when it is released later but it won’t have been as pleasurable  as the experience of watching it in the theatre. But throughout this experience, one thing really stuck with me and I so itched to write about it here. It happened when the national anthem started before the movie began and as expected,  most people stood up in respect as we all should. Yet, there were some who disregarded the fact that it was our national anthem that was playing on the screen and went merrily on their way to find their seats. And we were at a multiplex at that! I am sure most of the people there belonged to the educated class. I thought education teaches us to differentiate right from wrong, good from bad. So, shouldn’t it teach us to respect our national anthem that represents the sacrifies of our ancestors, who gave up their everything so that we, their future generations can reap the harvest of freedom. Is this how we pay them back? Who are we? Literate? Yes. But definitely not educated. 

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you about the wedding bells that seem to be going on and on. The last month was like one big wedding feast. So many of my friends have gotten married or are soon to be married. Its raining cats and dogs marriages here! Which brings me to the worst question that ever graced the lips of a human – When are you getting married? Lately there have been many people asking me the same question no matter the time, place or company. Like the world is going to tilt and go tumbling down the other way if I do not marry soon! Sometimes I so wish to tell these concered-for-me parties to go screw themselves. If it is the usual question, I can pretend to smile and let go of it, but the conceited looks and smirks discreetly wrapped with this same question makes bombs explode in my head. I wonder what kind of society we live in where people are more concerned to gossip about others than mind their own business. Why?  Just because I am of the suppossed marriagble age, do I get married to any Tom, Dick or Harry thrown my way? And then there is this other party – yes ladies I am pointing to you – the ones who married within the last year or two. The first time you meet them after they are wedded, they act all haughty. Umm… excuse me… but is their any nobel prize that these people might have won for getting married? We might be unmarried but its not like you married and became the President overnight. And the last time I checked, your house was still on that block of land on planet Earth. Was I wrong? Or did you move to Mars after your marriage?

If we were having coffee right now… I would tell you that my first teaching day went quite well. I was a bit nervous amd skeptical about my ability as a teacher, but after my first class, I feel relaxed. Yes, I can do it. Atleast for now. As for the future, I would just remember to take one step at a time. 

If we were having coffee right now… I know you can tell I had a very rant-ish month. I beg your pardon and thank you for lending me your ear to rant. Hope the coming month brings respite so that I share some happy things with you on our next coffee date this June.

Please, let me pay for your virtual coffee. You have done enough listening to my drunk-as-a-duck chit-chat. 

Cheers,

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

