Evanescent

 

*** in response to The Daily Post’s Weekly Photo Challenge

 

 

ev·a·nes·cent [evəˈnes(ə)nt]
adjective

Soon passing out of sight, memory, or existence; quickly fading or disappearing.

 

When I was a kid, I remember sparrows flocking our front-garden at the break of dawn to gather the grains my mother would scatter on the ground for them. For years it was a daily ritual in our family because our culture believes feeding these beings who can not speak for themselves is the ultimate sacred task.

As happens with urbanization, slowly the chirping of these friends of mine started decreasing. By the time I was in high school, it became just a memory to be nostalgic about because my little friends were nearly extinct in my city.

Several years later my family moved to a new place and to my utmost pleasure and surprise, I’ve been reunited with these childhood friends of mine. There is nothing more pleasing than waking up to their chirping early in the morning.

Of course it means sharing my room with these little hellions who love to build their nest in whatever space they may find in my room. And with it comes the added responsibility of quickly switching off all the fans in the house before any of them can get hurt as they fly about in the house as the lord of the mansion.

Don’t you think my surprise visitors are quite cute?

3 thoughts on “Evanescent

  1. Pingback: Evanescant: Exit | What's (in) the picture?

  2. There were sparrows in ur place too but in recent years they have been disappearing. It is very sad. Every morning we put out pieces of chapati and birds and squirrels come . It has become a ritual for us. Regards.

    Liked by 1 person

Can't stop talking? Share your thoughts here! :)

